OUP Black Combined Logo

CULTURAL IDENTITY & IDEOLOGY - III

SOCIETY & ARTISTIC ENDEAVOURS

TMYS Review December 2022

in collaboration with

                                                    

 

 

 

For the year 2022-23  TMYS Review is working on the theme of CULTURAL IDENTITY & IDEOLOGY. 

Under this theme, TMYS Review December 2022 will explore the role of Artistic Endeavours of Society in shaping cultural identity and ideology, focussing on three sub-themes:

  1. Portrayal of Religion in Artforms
  2. Graphic Representation & Social Evolution
  3. Regional Renditions in Dramatised Performances

 

Call for Submissions   

Stories, Poems and Essays on

ARTISTIC ENDEAVOURS shaping CULTURAL IDENTITY & IDEOLOGY

Based on any of the three sub-themes defined above.

Selected contributions will be published into a paperback book in collaboration with

 

 

 

 

INTRODUCTION

‘Man is born free, but everywhere he is in chains.’ No one can deny the statement of the Swiss philosopher Jean-Jacques Rousseau that society encompasses an individual. Whether we adhere to the medians or we rebel, we cannot detach ourselves from the shakles of society and its norms. Almost every individual experiences the influence of the culture they are born into - it reflects in the way they think, react and respond. When we talk about art, it has always depicted the socio-cultural phenomena as per the perception of the artist, which can open a vista of speculations. The manifestation of art expands to a wide array of forms like painting, music, dance, literature etc. which reflects the society of its time. In literature, we have modern art which is open to collaborations and experiments and largely deviates from classical art. Khalil Gibran's 'The Prophet' is a book of 26 prose poetry fables. Gibran parallelly illustrates his poem with his artistic representation. The Malayalam actress Shobhana fuses dance with drama, where she enacts an entire play through her dance moves.

Pastiche is another wonderful artistic technique to install an excerpt of a pre-worked artistic form. Modern art and its forms are blurring the lines as such. Rembrandt, the Dutch golden age painter adopted the unique technique of light and shade as a medium of expression. His strokes are profoundly unequivocal in representing different cultural forms.

Art today is an umbrella term to accommodate a whole oeuvre of creative activities like culinary decoration, vegetable carving, salad dressing, DIY usage of waste, sand art etc. Artists often take recourse to different artistic experiments to focus on societal issues. R K Laxman, the famous cartoonist, would use common man caricature to satirize political corruption in society. His caricatures became a brand. Road art and graffiti are common techniques to conceal civic apathy. A profound example can be taken from Japan’s Peace Parks that have been constructed around the Crater created by the explosion in Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

Art has tremendous influence in society in terms of imparting knowledge, including taboo topics. The Khajuraho carvings illustrate the essentiality of a soulful sexual liaison as the essence of healthy living. Classical dance like Yakshagana of Karnataka, Kathakali of Kerela and Sattriya of Assam narrates mythology and ancient culture. Temple art significantly draws attention to various moral preaching from Mahabharata, Ramayana and Puranas. In the ancient days, the temple walls served as a site of knowledge. Hampi’s Vittala temple has 56 musical pillars with each pillar echoing a Raga when tapped on them. Architects in the past have created masterpieces which were based on scientifi knowledge. The hanging Pillars of the Veerabhadra temple in Leepakshi seem to deny science. But their close understanding manifests that the 16th-century architects could calculate the place’s optimum gravitational pull in that location. As such their construction of a monument whose pillar didn’t touch the floor created a marvel of admiration.

The construction of art is correlated to its acceptance. Societal acceptance of art largely depends on the perception of the common masses otherwise it can become a toll of intolerance. Artists like MF Hussain, Tasleema Nasreen, Salman Rushdie, Munawar Iqbal, etc. had to bear the brunt of intolerance due to myopic appreciation of their work.

The December 2022 TMYS Review focuses on the vivacity of art in society and its immense scope of exploration. Art can be fantastic, grotesque, minimal and explicit. Considering the above possibilities, “Society and Artistic Endeavours” calls for an engaging discussion on the myriad ways how art impacts society focusing on three sub-themes:

1.    Portrayal of Religion in Artforms.

2.    Graphic Representation and Social Evolution.

3.    Regional Renditions in Dramatized Performances.

 

Artistic endeavor is extremely subjective catering to a vast scope of inventory of creative techniques depicting multicultural facets. It is undeniable that contemporary art is exponential and fluid thereby subjected to wide construal analysis.

Under the scope of the project, we will organize PANEL DISCUSSIONS (topics listed below) with senior scholars, professors, researchers, authors, journalists and other professionals who have worked extensively on such contexts falling under the three sub-themes listed above and have minutely studied their history, culture, occurrence, circumstances and more. This project endeavours to add to the existing body of study materials on this subject.

 

OBJECTIVES OF THE PROJECT:

1. Youth engagement with a network of entities that have researched or contributed towards exposing the hidden and/or understanding the complicated dimensions of the theme (and sub-themes).

2. To curate critical insights for global learning and inspiration on the social, political and personal dynamics of Art and Social Participants in Art shaping Cultural Identity & Ideology.

3. Invite attention towards the historical and contemporary practices that have influenced generations, impacted the society, the economy, the present and future of countries. 

 

THE PROJECT ARCHITECTURE:

1. TMYS Review December 2022 invites essays, short stories or poems on the mentioned theme; the submission must cater to one of the sub-themes.

2. Solo and panel discussions on the sub-themes will be hosted live on TMYS social media.  

Please scroll below for DIGITAL CONVERSATIONS for the titles and the delegate speakers.

3. Submissions citing one or more discussions from the DIGITAL CONVERSATION/S for information and inputs will carry additional weightage.

4.  A selection of short stories, essays and poems will be published in TMYS Review December 2022. The issue will be available in ebook and paperback formats across the world, distributed via Amazon.

5. Three winning contributions will receive a Certificate of Excellence from Oxford University Press.

 

THE DIGITAL CONVERSATIONS

TMYS Facebook LIVE with global thought-leaders. Topics are listed below.

 

(I) PORTRAYAL OF RELIGION IN ARTFORMS.

  1. Deific Craftsmanship through Sculptures and Handicrafts.

Depiction and preservation of religious narratives through handmade articraft.

Delegate Speakers: Jack Snell-Ryan  Peter Stewart Dhruva Mistry 

Date & Time: 11 Sept 8pm.  3:30 p.m. BST. 2:30 p.m. GMT. 10:30 a.m. EDT.

2.  Pious Renditions through Classical Music and Dance.

Religious narratives in classical art and its effect on cultural practices. 

Delegate Speakers: Lee Tsang Anupam Mahajan  Kaustavi Sarkar

Date & Time: 24 Sept 8pm.  3:30 p.m. BST. 2:30 p.m. GMT. 10:30 a.m. EDT.

3.  Spiritual Stories and Folk Lore in Literature.

With special reference to the writings of Anand Neelakantan.

Delegate Speakers: Anand Neelakantan

Date & Time: 7 October 8pm IST

4.  Mythology and its Significance in Sculpting Cultural Practises.

The impact of mythology in shaping the human civilization.

Delegate Speakers:  Vamsee Juluri Brian Collins Shubha Pathak Lavanya Vemsani

Date & Time: 2 Oct 8pm IST. 10.30am EDT

5.  Communicating Divinity through Canvas.

An exploration of the saga of religion in classical painting.

Delegate Speakers: Seema Bawa Kathryn Myers  

Date & Time: 25 Sept 8pm IST.  10:30 a.m. EDT. 7:30 a.m. PDT

6.  Theology and Multimedia: Understanding Visual Narratives of Religion.

An analysis of the on-screen portrayal of religion and its facets.                 

Delegate Speakers: Michael Wakelin  Shantanu Ray Chaudhuri  Protim Sharma  James H. Thrall

Date & Time: 3 Sept 8pm IST, 10:30 a.m. EDT.

 

(II). GRAPHICAL REPRESENTATION AND SOCIAL EVOLUTION.

  1. Evolution and Adaptation of Newspaper Cartoons.

Importance of newspaper cartoons shaping the culture and influencing a dynamic media landscape.

Delegate Speakers:  Manasvi Maheshwari  Rianka Sarkar Deborshee Gogoi

Date & Time:  1 October, 4 PM IST, 12:30 PM EDT.

2.  Webcomics and Digital Storytelling

The rise of webcomics and their impact on contemporary society.

Delegate Speakers:  Laurence Grove Lucas Landherr

Date & Time: 12 September  6:30 pm IST. 9 AM EDT, 2 PM BST.

3.  Motion Pictures:Tracing the Shift from Traditional to VFX.

Effect of VFX and Augmented Reality in TV commercials, digital films and big screen, reorganising culture.

Delegate Speakers:  Daniel Maddock  Govind Ji Pandey

Date & Time: 15 August 12pm IST, 4.30pm AEST.

4.  Social Issues Addressed through Street Art.

Illustrating diverse social phenomena through posters, graffiti, doodles and public murals.

Delegate Speakers:  Leena Kejriwal Jeffrey Ian Ross  Cameron McAuliffe

Date & Time: 17 Sept  5 PM IST, 7:30 AM EDT, 9:30 PM AEST

5.  Graphic Novels in the Age of Electronic Media

Growth and impact of graphic novels in modernizing culture while reminding traditions.

Delegate Speakers:  Sarnath Banerjee Vishwajyoti Ghosh  Randy Duncan

Date & Time: 13 Sept 8pm IST.  4:30 PM CEST. 9:30 AM CDT.

6.  Art Experiences in Social Networking Spaces.

Redefining traditional and pop culture in the age of social media.

Delegate Speakers:   Bradley E. Wiggins  Rituparna Roy Sourav Banerjee

Date & Time:  19th September, 2022 at 8 PM IST, 4:30 PM CEST.

 

(III.) REGIONAL RENDITIONS IN DRAMATIZED PERFORMANCES.

  1. Serialized Representations of Folk Lores Episodic Culture.

Folk performances as a composite art to depict the narratology of traditions.

Delegate Speakers:  Sharon Lowen  Mohan Dangaura  Umesh Patra  Arjun Raina Andrew Alter

Date & Time: 28 August 6pm IST,  6:15 pm NPT, 10:30 pm AEST.

2.  Theatrical Performances: Drama Across Spaces and Regions.

Representation of prominent regional literature through stagecraft and performance.

Delegate Speakers:  Anita Singh Sukanya Chakrabarti  Glenn Odom

Date & Time: 23 September  9:00 pm IST, 8:30 am PST, 4:30 pm GMT.

3.  Motion Pictures: Regionalism and the People.

The holistic and meaningful representation of people in the regional cinema.

Delegate Speakers:  Rajeev Kamineni Suman Ghosh Dev Nath Pathak Akshaya Kumar

Date & Time: 10 September 6pm IST,  10 pm ACST, 1:30 pm GMT.

4.  Stand-up Comedy: Regional Language on National Stage.

Popularising regional stories, lifestyles and typicalities through different languages of laughter.

Delegate Speakers:  Izuu Nwankwo Margherita Dore 

Date & Time: TBD

5.  Sitcoms and OTTS: Visual Manifestations of Culture.

An experience of the diverse doze of daily entertainment.

Delegate Speakers:  Aritra Basu Debanjali Roy Sreya Mitra

Date & Time: 2 September 7pm IST.

6.  Rendering Spaces: Situating Women in Dramaverse

Diachronic and Synchronic Representation of Women in Theatre.

Delegate Speaker:  Joy Sengupta  Titilola Dawudu  Sue Parrish

Date & Time: 27 September 8pm,  3:30 p.m GMT

 

 

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

SUBMISSION GUIDELINES:

 

1. TMYS Review invites short stories, poems or essays on the above-mentioned theme. All submissions to TMYS Review that do not follow the guidelines will be rejected.

2. The submissions MUST justify either or more of the sub-themes mentioned above. The content doesn't need to restrict to Indian situations. We welcome contributions on and from other parts of the world.

3. Selected submissions will be published in TMYS Review December 2022. The issue will be available in ebook and paperback formats across the world, distributed via Amazon.

4. The contributors are free to refer to our digital conversations with the delegates (details above). At the end of the submission files, the citation must mention the referred talks if consulted.

(Submissions with such citations will carry greater weightage for selection/recognition.)

5. The short stories could be fiction or nonfiction, 1200-2000 words.

The essays should be 2500-3000 words.  Essay submissions should be accompanied by an Abstract (no more than 300 words). Works cited in essays should follow MLA8 format.

Submission upto 5 poems will be accepted against each registration.

6. All submissions should be accompanied with the bio-brief (around 150 words, written in third person) and photograph of the author. Mentioning the social media links (Facebook/Linkedin/Twitter/Instagram) of the contributors in the email body is encouraged; it will help us to tag when we promote the submissions.

7. All submissions should be word files, attached and emailed to tmysreview@gmail.com; while making a submission, mention in the subject line <the title of the essay/story/poem, name of the delegate speaker in citation (if it applies) and Dec 2022.

8. All submissions should use Calibri/Times New Roman, font size 12; font size 16 for headings and font size 14 for sub headings if any. Line spacing : 1.5.

9. Only original and previously unpublished work will be considered. The contributors must agree that if selected for publication, then their work cannot be sent out elsewhere for any other kind of virtual, print or social media publication.

10. Last date of submission: 10 October 2022

11.  A  participation fee of INR 300/- (USD 5 for contributors outside India) will be charged per contribution. 

This is a  non-refundable fee, but we will do our best to cooperate in case you have made an error that can be corrected to help you resubmit.  In each such case, our decision will be final.

Tell Me Your Story OPC Pvt. Ltd.
A/c no : 059685800000177, Yes Bank.  Branch - Shankardhan Plaza Junction, MM Road, Mulund West, Mumbai 400080, IFS Code : YESB0000596.

Contributors outside India can send us an email and we shall raise a Paypal link for them.

Post making the payment, please send a mail at tmysreview@gmail.com to register yourself.

***Registration doesn't guarantee publication*** 

12. Simultaneous/multiple submissions are accepted, with the same fee for each submission.

13. Decision of the Project Team and the Editors will be final.

14. Contact for Queries : write QUERIES in subject line and send us an email at tmysreview@gmail.com; we apologise in advance for not responding to obvious or irrelevant queries.

 

 

PROJECT TEAM

 

Cart